5 Life Lessons I Learned from My Amazing, Diverse, and Sometimes Crazy Mentors

Krista Mollion
7 min readNov 1, 2021
Photo by Tim Wildsmith on Unsplash

When a person succeeds, he or she will often point back at a specific mentor in their life: a teacher who believed in them, a parent who was always supportive, or a boss early on in their careers. These stories are often beautiful and touching.

My story is different. I grew up seeing no one in my family nor town whom I wanted to be like. I started traveling very young and met many adults during the first eighteen years of my life but I still found no one in particular to guide me. So I turned to books. I read voraciously. Books were (and still are) my mentors.

Through books, I learned success, love, life lessons, valuable history lessons, and diversity that I would never have had access to in real life. I read the words of Nobel Prize winners, ex-convicts, people who had suffered terribly, and billionaires. Tell me what you’ve read, and I’ll tell you who you are. Books play a huge role in forming young and old minds alike. It is sad for me to hear about a decline in reading today because I know the power of it firsthand.

Here are some of the key lessons my book mentors taught me (and continue to teach me):

1/ True Courage Isn’t Always Rewarded At the Moment But Will Never Be Forgotten. Truth…

--

--

Krista Mollion

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable