Five Signs You May Be The Victim Of Shiny Object Syndrome

Krista Mollion
6 min readMar 30, 2021

And How to Overcome It

Photo by Alvin Lenin on Unsplash

I fired a client recently. I shouldn’t have taken her on in the first place. Looking back, the warning signs were there. I ignored them because I want to help entrepreneurs so much. Plus, I see the good in all people first and push aside the bad. This client suffers from shiny object syndrome. She just couldn’t commit to following a program. I ended things on a good note and explained to her the work she needs to do in order to overcome her issue. But I thought to write this article to help others too.

I know the shiny object syndrome all too well, both in my personal and professional life. I am an idealist, a visionary, a truth seeker, and a recovering perfectionist, living for innovation and discovery. In my private life, I used to be one to follow fad diets and workouts, jumping on every new health trend that surfaced and on a quest of personal development, reading all the self-help books. In my career, I was constantly seeking out better methodologies and hacks to produce more, better, and faster. I would follow one guru one week and a different one the following week. My house was full of books, all on one subject but by different authors with various, often contradictory approaches. My kitchen was full of dietary supplements and powders, all following various health fads. I was…

--

--

Krista Mollion

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable