How Losing My Car Was The Best Thing That Happened to Me

Krista Mollion
3 min readSep 10, 2020

Blessings In Disguise Are All Around Us If We Choose To Embrace The Life Lessons

Image: Krista Mollion

When my dad died of Covid-19, I knew I needed to stay in France for a while. At first, there was the lockdown so we didn’t really go anywhere. Then it was lifted and all of a sudden, we needed to go do so many things like doctors’ appointments, shopping, lawyer meetings, etc. But one little detail: I don’t have a car here. We are in a mountain community where it seems everyone has a car. Ok, I thought, I’ll just buy a cheap car and sell it or store it when I leave. But when I did my research, I was blown away by how expensive used cars are here in France, even crappy ones. And, in a mountainous area, we need 4x4 and good snow tires. My house is off-road so normal cars can’t get here in the Winter. I probably won’t still be here in the Winter but still: to buy a car only makes sense if I can use it or resell it. Because Winter is basically 8 months of the year lol:)) And even in Summer, many roads are all-terrain so 4x4 is a must to really live here.

So I am now saving money to buy a car that will cost more than I expected, exactly when I haven't been working much in 2020. In the meantime, I AM WALKING EVERYWHERE! I typically walk between 5 and 10 miles per day. I also plan to buy a mountain…

--

--

Krista Mollion

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable