The Advice from a Stranger That Made Me Successful

It may work for you too if you try it

Krista Mollion
5 min readNov 2, 2020
Image: Rodan Can for Unsplash

A girl walks into a bar and meets a guy….

It sounds so cliché but this actually happened to me. And it wasn’t romantic but it was life-changing.

I met my one-time business/life mentor in a classy hotel bar. It was 2012 in downtown San Francisco. I was attending the annual Tech conference, Dreamforce. For those of you who work in Tech or live in the San Francisco Bay Area, you’ll know exactly what this is. Started in 2003, the conference takes over San Francisco for a few days. Hell, it’s more like a week. Thousands of Tech professionals flock to the Bay Area to sell, build partnerships and learn. The conference has grown into quite a beast, with up to 170,000 attendees the last time I checked. Speakers in past years include Barack Obama, David Beckham, and Apple CEO Tim Cook.

This is one of those “Right Time — Right Place” stories that happens rarely but when they do, they have the potential to change your life forever. The streets were crowded and noisy but inside the bar, there was that peaceful quiet you find in upscale hotels. There was even a piano player in the corner. I took a seat at the fancy mirrored bar. It was a complete coincidence that I came there. I was stressed from hustling all day to try to build…

--

--

Krista Mollion

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable