The True Secret to Achievement is (Surprise) Your Time Away from Your Desk

How a less-is-more approach doubles productivity and success

Krista Mollion
6 min readJan 18, 2021
Image: Author

I was raised to believe that hard work was the path to success. Born in America to immigrant grandparents, it is no surprise that a strong work ethic was instilled upon me at birth. It wasn’t until college when I studied Economics that I realized that wealthy people didn’t work harder. In fact, sometimes they worked a lot less than poorer people. Ironically it even seems that some may have spent more time on golf courses or at charity galas than behind a desk. It seemed they simply made smarter decisions, especially how to make more money with money, and built strategic business relationships that paid off. While my grandparents were living paycheck-to-paycheck and trying to get overtime hours to pay for things, I studied businesspeople who did not go to work every day but had learned how to generate passive income. They made money whether they worked or not. It seemed genius to me.

Yet this kind of lifestyle did not seem accessible to most people. After all, we were raised to go to college and get a job. The rich did not follow the same rules. As a business and career coach, I am always looking for ways to help my clients achieve more and shortcut their success. This led me to study in-depth…

--

--

Krista Mollion

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable